Duran Duran Appreciation Day Party Details!

Duran Duran Appreciation Day is just days away!!!  I always look forward to our international holiday and this year is no different!  Like last year, Daily Duranie is hosting an online party and we would love for all of you to attend!  You can all RSVP at this link here:  Facebook Party Page!

By now, I’m sure that all of you are anxious to hear all of the details. Rhonda and I have created a 24 hour playlist on our YouTube channel.  The idea is that Duranies all over the world will be checking into the playlist and watching the same video at the same time.  You can find our channel here!  Then, as we watch the videos we selected, we will be talking about them on Facebook and/or Twitter! On Facebook, the event page that was posted above will be Party Central!  On Twitter, you can certainly follow us (@DailyDuranie).  We will be using the hashtag #DDAD15 for all of our celebratory tweets throughout the party!

Schedule:

Here is the schedule for Monday’s Duran Duran video viewing!  If you are someone who wants to participate the whole time (and we know you DO!), you want to press play on the Duran Duran Appreciation Day Playlist that will appear on the Daily Duranie YouTube channel starting at the following times:

  • 12:00 am midnight for Eastern Standard Time (EST) on Monday, August 10th (If you are on the east coast, this is late on Sunday night!)
  • 11:00 pm for Central Standard Time (CST) on Sunday, August 9th
  • 9:00 pm for Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) on Sunday, August 9th
  • 5:00 am for Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) on Monday, August 10th
  • 2:00 pm for Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on Monday, August 10th

Now, we realize that some of you will choose to jump in later in the day or at various points due to work, sleep, appointments, etc.  Therefore, below is schedule for the more significant or longer videos.  Please note that there are often shorter videos in between these.  I am not listing each video here on the schedule but just the longer ones.

Bratislava 2012:

  • 12:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 11:30 pm CST on Sunday, August 9
  • 9:30 pm PDT on Sunday, August 9
  • 5:30 am GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 2:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

New Year’s Eve 1982:

  • 2:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 1:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 11:30 pm PDT on Sunday, August 9
  • 7:30 am GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 4:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Working for the Skin Trade:

  • 3:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 2:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 12:30 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 8:30 am GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 5:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Classic Albums-Rio:

  • 4:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 3:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 1:30 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 9:30 am GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 6:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Hammersmith 1982:

  • 5:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 4:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 2:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 10:30 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 7:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Wild Boys Documentary:

  • 6:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 5:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 3:30 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 11:30 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 8:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Night at the Park 2015:

  • 7:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 6:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 4:30 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 12:30 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 9:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Three to Get Ready:

  • 8:00 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 7:00 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 5:00 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 1:00 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 10:00 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

One Night Only:

  • 9:15 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 8:15 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 6:15 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 2:15 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 11:15 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Live From London:

  • 10:15 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 9:15 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 7:15 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 3:15 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 12:15 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Sing Blue Silver (Please Note—There will be a Drinking Game for this part listed below and a repeated viewing!)

  • 12:30 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 11:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 9:30 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 5:30 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 2:30 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

A Diamond in the Mind (Please Note—There will be a Drinking Game for this part listed below and a repeated viewing!)

  • 2:00 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 1:00 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 11:00 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 7:00 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 4:00 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Interview 2003:

  • 4:00 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 3:00 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 1:00 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 9:00 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 6:00 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Off the Record:

  • 4:30 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 3:30 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 1:30 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 9:30 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 6:30 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Songbook 2009:

  • 5:00 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 4:00 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 2:00 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 10:00 pm GMT on Tuesday, August 11
  • 7:00 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Coachella 2011:

  • 6:45 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 5:45 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 3:45 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 11:45 pm GMT on Tuesday, August 11
  • 8:45 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Sing Blue Silver  (Please Note—There will be a Drinking Game for this part listed below and a viewing earlier in the day!)

  • 8:15 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 7:15 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 5:15 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 1:15 am GMT on Tuesday, August 11
  • 10:15 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

A Diamond in the Mind  (Please Note—There will be a Drinking Game for this part listed below and a viewing earlier in the day!)

  • 9:45 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 8:45 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 6:45 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 2:45 am GMT on Tuesday, August 11
  • 11:45 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Behind the Music:

  • 11:45 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 10:45 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 8:45 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 4:45 am GMT on Tuesday, August 11
  • 1:45 pm AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Therefore, if you aren’t able to participate for a full twenty-four hours, you know when you might be able to jump in and join us!  Let me give you an example.  Say you live in the Chicagoland area.  You work all day on Monday, August 10th until 5:30 pm.  After you get home, you are ready to celebrate Duran Duran and join the party!  Thus, you look on the schedule above, see that you can easily jump into to watch Duran’s performance at Coachella in 2011 at 5:45 pm. Thus, you click on the Daily Duranie YouTube channel, find the Duran Duran Appreciation Day Party Playlist, find Coachella and click on it at exactly 5:45.  Then, as you begin your viewing, you go over to Facebook and Twitter in order to comment or react to other people’s comments as they watch.  Make sense?  The idea behind the twenty-four hour playlist is that everyone in the world can participate, at least some of the time!

Drinking Game:

Of course, like many of you, the part I’m looking forward to the most is when the drinking game will be included in the party!  As you probably noted above, there are a couple videos on the schedule that are repeated.  This is because they are featured in the drinking game.  We wanted to allow both people in the US and people in the UK to participate in the drinking game.  Therefore, if you live in the UK, you start your drinking game at 5:30 pm (GMT) with Sing Blue Silver while Rhonda on the west coast of the US might wait until the second airing of Sing Blue Silver at 5:15 pm her time (PDT).  Logical, right?

So, what videos are included in the drinking game and what are the drinking game rules?  Here is the complete list of what is included in the drinking game part of the party in order:

  1. Sing Blue Silver
  2. All You Need Is Now–the official video (Not listed above)
  3. A Diamond in the Mind
  4. The Astronaut Press Kit (Not listed above)
  5. Careless Memories–the official video (Not listed above)

Let me repeat the times the drinking game begins:

1st time:

  • 12:30 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 11:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 9:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 5:30 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 2:30 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

2nd time:

  • 8:15 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 7:15 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 5:15 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 1:15 am GMT on Tuesday, August 11
  • 10:15 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Drinking Game Rules:

This year in honor of the upcoming album, Paper Gods, we are using the album cover as the inspiration for the drinking game.

Paper Gods sub 2

 

Based on these pictures and what they represent, take one drink/sip each time there is a visual (picture) or lyrical (line in a song) mention of any of the following:

  • high heels
  • an up close, singular eye or mention of sight
  • reference to the press/media (mouth piece)
  • snake or Union of the Snake
  • saxophone
  • rocket/space references
  • lizard or domination
  • Eiffel Tower, James Bond or A View to a Kill
  • Lipstick and make-up
  • Wrestler or Girls on Film
  • Ice cream or any food
  • Tiger
  • Dancing
  • Cocktail/drinks/alcohol
  • Phone
  • Chauffeur Hat

Bonus—Finish your drink when the following moment is shown:

  • When spending more time in nightclubs is stated in Sing Blue Silver
  • When all 5 members are posed in a group photo in the studio during the video for All You Need Is Now
  • When Duran Duran sings Frankie Goes to Hollywood’s Relax during A Diamond in the Mind
  • When John describes what Simon is rarely like in the Astronaut Press Kit
  • When the girl in the Careless Memories video goes from looking at Simon in the car to looking at John

I think that’s it!  That is everything you need to know to enjoy yourself and the party on Monday!  I know that I’m looking forward to it and hope to see each and every one of you online!!!

-A

4 thoughts on “Duran Duran Appreciation Day Party Details!”

  1. Can’t wait! I seriously look forward to this day now. And thanks so much for all the effort you put in to making it special for ALL of us! That’s alot of work… that I am going to ENJOY! I’ll be jumping in at Songbook 2009 and will attend through Coachella, Sing Blue Silver and Diamond in the Mind! See you there!!!

We (Amanda and Rhonda) appreciate discussion and differences of opinion. We respectfully ask that you fully read the blog before bitching us out. If you're only here to take us down a notch, note that we moderate replies (meaning we're not printing rude comments). Thanks a bunch!