Tag Archives: Online viewing party

Duran Duran Appreciation Day Party Details!

Duran Duran Appreciation Day is just days away!!!  I always look forward to our international holiday and this year is no different!  Like last year, Daily Duranie is hosting an online party and we would love for all of you to attend!  You can all RSVP at this link here:  Facebook Party Page!

By now, I’m sure that all of you are anxious to hear all of the details. Rhonda and I have created a 24 hour playlist on our YouTube channel.  The idea is that Duranies all over the world will be checking into the playlist and watching the same video at the same time.  You can find our channel here!  Then, as we watch the videos we selected, we will be talking about them on Facebook and/or Twitter! On Facebook, the event page that was posted above will be Party Central!  On Twitter, you can certainly follow us (@DailyDuranie).  We will be using the hashtag #DDAD15 for all of our celebratory tweets throughout the party!

Schedule:

Here is the schedule for Monday’s Duran Duran video viewing!  If you are someone who wants to participate the whole time (and we know you DO!), you want to press play on the Duran Duran Appreciation Day Playlist that will appear on the Daily Duranie YouTube channel starting at the following times:

  • 12:00 am midnight for Eastern Standard Time (EST) on Monday, August 10th (If you are on the east coast, this is late on Sunday night!)
  • 11:00 pm for Central Standard Time (CST) on Sunday, August 9th
  • 9:00 pm for Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) on Sunday, August 9th
  • 5:00 am for Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) on Monday, August 10th
  • 2:00 pm for Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on Monday, August 10th

Now, we realize that some of you will choose to jump in later in the day or at various points due to work, sleep, appointments, etc.  Therefore, below is schedule for the more significant or longer videos.  Please note that there are often shorter videos in between these.  I am not listing each video here on the schedule but just the longer ones.

Bratislava 2012:

  • 12:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 11:30 pm CST on Sunday, August 9
  • 9:30 pm PDT on Sunday, August 9
  • 5:30 am GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 2:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

New Year’s Eve 1982:

  • 2:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 1:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 11:30 pm PDT on Sunday, August 9
  • 7:30 am GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 4:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Working for the Skin Trade:

  • 3:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 2:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 12:30 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 8:30 am GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 5:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Classic Albums-Rio:

  • 4:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 3:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 1:30 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 9:30 am GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 6:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Hammersmith 1982:

  • 5:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 4:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 2:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 10:30 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 7:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Wild Boys Documentary:

  • 6:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 5:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 3:30 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 11:30 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 8:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Night at the Park 2015:

  • 7:30 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 6:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 4:30 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 12:30 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 9:30 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Three to Get Ready:

  • 8:00 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 7:00 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 5:00 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 1:00 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 10:00 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

One Night Only:

  • 9:15 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 8:15 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 6:15 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 2:15 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 11:15 pm AEST on Monday, August 10

Live From London:

  • 10:15 am EST on Monday, August 10
  • 9:15 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 7:15 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 3:15 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 12:15 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Sing Blue Silver (Please Note—There will be a Drinking Game for this part listed below and a repeated viewing!)

  • 12:30 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 11:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 9:30 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 5:30 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 2:30 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

A Diamond in the Mind (Please Note—There will be a Drinking Game for this part listed below and a repeated viewing!)

  • 2:00 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 1:00 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 11:00 am PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 7:00 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 4:00 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Interview 2003:

  • 4:00 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 3:00 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 1:00 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 9:00 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 6:00 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Off the Record:

  • 4:30 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 3:30 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 1:30 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 9:30 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 6:30 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Songbook 2009:

  • 5:00 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 4:00 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 2:00 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 10:00 pm GMT on Tuesday, August 11
  • 7:00 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Coachella 2011:

  • 6:45 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 5:45 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 3:45 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 11:45 pm GMT on Tuesday, August 11
  • 8:45 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Sing Blue Silver  (Please Note—There will be a Drinking Game for this part listed below and a viewing earlier in the day!)

  • 8:15 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 7:15 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 5:15 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 1:15 am GMT on Tuesday, August 11
  • 10:15 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

A Diamond in the Mind  (Please Note—There will be a Drinking Game for this part listed below and a viewing earlier in the day!)

  • 9:45 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 8:45 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 6:45 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 2:45 am GMT on Tuesday, August 11
  • 11:45 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Behind the Music:

  • 11:45 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 10:45 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 8:45 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 4:45 am GMT on Tuesday, August 11
  • 1:45 pm AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Therefore, if you aren’t able to participate for a full twenty-four hours, you know when you might be able to jump in and join us!  Let me give you an example.  Say you live in the Chicagoland area.  You work all day on Monday, August 10th until 5:30 pm.  After you get home, you are ready to celebrate Duran Duran and join the party!  Thus, you look on the schedule above, see that you can easily jump into to watch Duran’s performance at Coachella in 2011 at 5:45 pm. Thus, you click on the Daily Duranie YouTube channel, find the Duran Duran Appreciation Day Party Playlist, find Coachella and click on it at exactly 5:45.  Then, as you begin your viewing, you go over to Facebook and Twitter in order to comment or react to other people’s comments as they watch.  Make sense?  The idea behind the twenty-four hour playlist is that everyone in the world can participate, at least some of the time!

Drinking Game:

Of course, like many of you, the part I’m looking forward to the most is when the drinking game will be included in the party!  As you probably noted above, there are a couple videos on the schedule that are repeated.  This is because they are featured in the drinking game.  We wanted to allow both people in the US and people in the UK to participate in the drinking game.  Therefore, if you live in the UK, you start your drinking game at 5:30 pm (GMT) with Sing Blue Silver while Rhonda on the west coast of the US might wait until the second airing of Sing Blue Silver at 5:15 pm her time (PDT).  Logical, right?

So, what videos are included in the drinking game and what are the drinking game rules?  Here is the complete list of what is included in the drinking game part of the party in order:

  1. Sing Blue Silver
  2. All You Need Is Now–the official video (Not listed above)
  3. A Diamond in the Mind
  4. The Astronaut Press Kit (Not listed above)
  5. Careless Memories–the official video (Not listed above)

Let me repeat the times the drinking game begins:

1st time:

  • 12:30 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 11:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 9:30 am CST on Monday, August 10
  • 5:30 pm GMT on Monday, August 10
  • 2:30 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

2nd time:

  • 8:15 pm EST on Monday, August 10
  • 7:15 pm CST on Monday, August 10
  • 5:15 pm PDT on Monday, August 10
  • 1:15 am GMT on Tuesday, August 11
  • 10:15 am AEST on Tuesday, August 11

Drinking Game Rules:

This year in honor of the upcoming album, Paper Gods, we are using the album cover as the inspiration for the drinking game.

Paper Gods sub 2

 

Based on these pictures and what they represent, take one drink/sip each time there is a visual (picture) or lyrical (line in a song) mention of any of the following:

  • high heels
  • an up close, singular eye or mention of sight
  • reference to the press/media (mouth piece)
  • snake or Union of the Snake
  • saxophone
  • rocket/space references
  • lizard or domination
  • Eiffel Tower, James Bond or A View to a Kill
  • Lipstick and make-up
  • Wrestler or Girls on Film
  • Ice cream or any food
  • Tiger
  • Dancing
  • Cocktail/drinks/alcohol
  • Phone
  • Chauffeur Hat

Bonus—Finish your drink when the following moment is shown:

  • When spending more time in nightclubs is stated in Sing Blue Silver
  • When all 5 members are posed in a group photo in the studio during the video for All You Need Is Now
  • When Duran Duran sings Frankie Goes to Hollywood’s Relax during A Diamond in the Mind
  • When John describes what Simon is rarely like in the Astronaut Press Kit
  • When the girl in the Careless Memories video goes from looking at Simon in the car to looking at John

I think that’s it!  That is everything you need to know to enjoy yourself and the party on Monday!  I know that I’m looking forward to it and hope to see each and every one of you online!!!

-A

This Past Week in Duranland (August 25 to August 31, 2014)

It seems to me that each and every week in the Duran Duran universe is getting more and more exciting.  After a very long time of not very much happening, we now seem to have announcements each week!  I love it, but it is harder to keep up.  We do our best to react quickly to each and every piece of news.  In fact, we are very committed to this.  If we are going to keep a daily blog, it has to be DAILY, at the very least.  Sometimes, I question our sanity and then go right back to work.

This week saw two big news items on the band’s official website:

First, on the 25th, we learned that Duran Duran is going to play Austin, Texas, on Saturday, November 1st as part of the Grand Prix Formula 1 Fan Fest.  While tickets are available to this show, they are not cheap due to the larger event.  For information, you can read the official press release here.  If you want to read Rhonda’s blog post about it, you can go here.

Second, by the 28th, we had all learned that Duran Duran would be performing at the official unveiling of the Madza MX-5 Miata in Monterey, California, on Wednesday, September 3rd.  Since it a private event, there were no tickets available to the public, but there were some lucky fans in the fan club who won tickets to the event.  Yet, according to the press release, which you can read here, all is not lost for the majority of fans as highlights will be shown on Madza’s YouTube channel.  How did we respond to this?  We do what we always try to do–use it as a way to bring fans together.  In this case, we are hosting an online event, which you can read about and join in here.

The band’s official fan club reminded all of us about Denis O’Regan’s book, Careless Memories.  To see what is included in the book and to order, go to: http://www.ddcarelessmemories.com/books/elite-edition.  If you do get one, please, let us know how it is!

If all that wasn’t enough, there was some interesting activity on social media this week, too!

While the band’s Facebook and Twitter reminded us all about the upcoming events of Austin, Monterey, and Unstaged.  They also reminded us that Fashion Rocks is coming up quickly!  In fact, they posted a picture from the band’s In Style photo shoot that was done for Fashion Rocks.  I highly recommend checking it out!!!

We also learned via certain Twitter accounts (*coughJohnTaylorDomBrowncough*) that the band went to Moscow.  From there, we found out that they went there for a private concert for a Russian pharmaceutical company.  Some of our friends who are far better at searching for Duran Duran alerts found a few clips from this performance.

HLTW

Ordinary World

http://instagram.com/p/sTFzMamDFO/

What will next week bring?  We shall see and it shall be interesting.  Just in case, you need the upcoming Duran dates listed in one place:

September 3rd:  Madza Private Party and Daily Duranie Durandemonium Online Viewing Party 6 PM PST

September 9th:  Fashion Rocks

September 10th:  Unstaged Screenings

September 14th:  Other Unstaged Screening

November 1st:  Show in Austin

What am I missing?!?

-A

 

Set the Story Alight: Online Viewing Party

What are YOU going to be doing on Wednesday, September 3rd?!  We all know that Duran Duran will be playing at a private show for Madza as the company unveils the Mx-5 Miata in Monterey, California.  While the vast majority of us couldn’t be there, we won’t be totally missing out!  Oh no, the highlights, at least, will be aired on Madza’s YouTube channel.  Details as well as a link to the YouTube channel can be found on duranduran.com, which you can read about here.  I don’t know about the rest of you, but I’m absolutely dying for a show, for a performance, for something.  It has been WAY, WAY TOO LONG.  Thus, I will take any and all highlights they will share!!!

Obviously, Rhonda and I knew that we could all just watch the highlights by ourselves. This led to us envisioning each and every Duranie alone in front of the computer screen, longing not only Duran Live but also their friends. While I’m sure that every Duranie out there would be mildly entertained by watching the highlights all alone, we know that it would be tons more fun if we all watched the highlights together!!! Of course, we all can’t be in the same room at the same time, but we can all be online together at the same time!  We did it for the Sing Blue Silver viewing on Duran Duran Appreciation Day!  So, how would this work?  Simple. We all tune into Madza’s YouTube channel at 6 pm PST (or 8 pm CST or 9 pm EST, etc):  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0Ihuy4gj2w-AYEQXRnUdUA.  As we watch, we will discuss, react, *squee* online with each other!

While we will all be watching the YouTube channel, we will be doing the fan reaction thing in a couple of places.  First, if Twitter is your preference, then, it is simple.  Tweet out your thoughts, but make sure that you are using the hashtag #DDMadza so we can all find the tweets about the highlights!  Second, if you prefer Facebook, the best place to discuss/react/squee is on the event page.  Yes, that’s right.  We have an official event page for this little viewing party, which you can find here.  I’m sure that Rhonda and myself will be splitting duties as we did for the Sing Blue Silver viewing party.  One of us will be on Twitter and one on Facebook.  Yet, if we feeling ambitious, we might try to hit both online places.  Ha!  The key here is simple.  We want to make this event super fun for all of us dying-for-a-show as we know that watching Duran is great but watching with other fans is the BEST.  Beyond that, though, we would love to get Duran trending like we did for Duran Duran Appreciation Day.  Let’s help to remind the world that not only is Duran is still around but they are still kicking ass.

Between now and Wednesday, we ask you to do a couple of favors.  First, go to that Facebook event and RSVP.  The link is:  https://www.facebook.com/events/277931022416579/?notif_t=plan_user_joined.

After that, share the event with all of your friends both on Facebook and on Twitter so that they, too, can join and share away!  We would love to have all 2.5 million fans of Duran Duran on Facebook attending and participating!  (Now, I know that for some of you the time of the event sucks.  We hate that it isn’t good for everyone.  Unfortunately, we have no control over the time.)

Let’s remind each other of the fun we have together and let’s show the world that Duranies mean business when it comes to helping Duran be successful!

-A